Drowning by numbers by peter greenaway

Tired of her husband's philanderous ways, the mother of two daughters drowns her husband. With the reluctant help of the local coroner, the murder is obscured. Her daughters are having similar problems with relationships, and tend to follow their mother's example, and the coroner becomes reluctantly duplicitous. As the plot progresses, visual and spoken numbers appear in the scenes, counting from one to 100.

1988, 122 mins.

Drowning by numbers credits

Directed by Peter Greenaway

Writing Credits  
Peter Greenaway(written by)

Cast (in credits order)
Joan Plowright - Cissie Colpitts 1
Juliet Stevenson - Cissie Colpitts 2
Joely Richardson - Cissie Colpitts 3
Bernard Hill - Madgett
Jason Edwards - Smut
Bryan Pringle - Jake
Trevor Cooper - Hardy
David Morrissey - Bellamy
John Rogan - Gregory
Paul Mooney - Teigan
Jane Gurnett - Nancy
Kenny Ireland - Jonah Bognor
Michael Percival - Moses Bognor
Joanna Dickens - Mrs. Hardy
Janine Duvitski - Marina Bellamy
Michael Fitzgerald - Mr. 70 Van Dyke
Edward Tudor-Pole - Mr. 71 Van Dyke
Natalie Morse - The Skipping Girl
Arthur Spreckley - Sid the Gravedigger
Ian Talbot - The Police Detective
Roderic Leigh - The Policeman
Vanni Corbellini - The Hare
Jose Berg - Skipping Girl's Mother
Peter Jaques - Priest (uncredited)

Produced by
Peter Jaques - line producer
Kees Kasander - producer
Denis Wigman - producer

Music by
Michael Nyman

Cinematography by 
Sacha Vierny

Film Editing by
John Wilson

Casting By
Sharon Howard-Field

Production Design by
Ben van Os
Jan Roelfs

Costume Design by 
Dien van Straalen

Makeup Department
Sjoerd Didden - wig maker
Sara Meerman - chief makeup
Mary Sturgess - hair stylist

Production Management 
Evelien Jansen - production manager

Second Unit Director or Assistant Director
Gerrit Martijn - first assistant director

Art Department
Allard Bekker - set dresser: Holland (as Allard Becker)
Nancy D'Ancona - constructor
Peter Davies - assistant construction
Michel De Graaf - constructor: Holland
Constance de Vos - set dresser
Lidewij Kapteijn - constructor (as Liedewij Kapteyn)
Maarten Piersma - constructor (as Marten Piersma)
Wilbert Van Dorp - construction manager
Lawrie Ayres - stand-by prop master (uncredited)

Sound Department 
Lucas Boeke - additional sound: Holland (as Lucas Boske)
Mick Boggis - assistant dubbing mixer
Felicity Cottrell - foley artist
Bill Garlic - foley artist (as Bill Garlick)
Arno Hagers - boom operator
Nigel Heath - sound effects treatment
Garth Marshall - sound recordist
Peter Maxwell - dubbing mixer
Beryl Mortimer - foley artist
Bridget Reiss - dialogue editor
Shirley Shaw - dialogue editor
Ted Swanscott - adr mixer / foley mixer
Sarah Vickers - dialogue editor
Chris Wyatt - sound editor
Steve Hancock - sound camera operator (uncredited)

Andy Bradford - stunts
Peter Brayham - stunt coordinator
Frank Kenton - stunts
Les Maryon - stunts (as Les Marion)

Camera and Electrical Department
Max Hoven - electrician
Nico Komen - electrician
Martin McCullough - chief grip
Stephen Morley - still photographer
Jeroen Planting - electrician: Holland
Chris Renson - focus puller
Adam Rodgers - camera operator
Don Springall - generator operator
Reinier van Brummelen - chief electrician
Tinus Holthuis - electrician (uncredited)

Casting Department
Karen Lindsay-Stewartcasting assistant

Costume and Wardrobe Department
Heather Williams - costume supervisor

Editorial Department 
Milfid Ellis - first assistant editor

Music Department 
Marsten Bailey - assistant music recording engineer
Alexander Balanescu - musician: Violin
Bob Butterworth - music recording engineer
Jonathan Carney - musician: Violin
David Cunningham - music producer
Andrew Findon - musician: tenor and baritone sax and piccolo
David Fuest - musician: clarinet and bass clarinet
Miranda Fulleylove - musician: violin
Rosemary Furniss - musician: violin
John Harle - musician: soprano and alto sax
Tony Hinnigan - musician: cello
Robin McGee - musician: double bass
Michael Nyman - musical director / musician: piano
Joe Rappaport - musician: viola
David Roach - musician: alto sax (as David Roah)
Steve Saunders - musician: bass trombone
Jackie Shave - musician: violin
Briony Shaw - musician: violin
Andrew Shulman - musician: cello
Michael Thompson - musician: French horn
John Wilbraham - musician: trumpet and fluegelhorn
Oliver Ledbury - music preparation (uncredited)

Other crew
Jill Bennett - production accountant
Crispin Buxton - floor runner (as Crispin Buckstone)
Marietta De Vries - continuity clerk
Walter Donohue - creative advisor
Richard Edwards - chaperon
Eljo Embregts - production coordinator: Netherlands
Peter Eusebe - job fit trainee
Chester Eyre - laboratory contact
Carolyn Jardine - publicist (as Caroline Jardine)
Charles McDonald - publicist: UK
Alison Owen - production coordinator
Steve Saunders - bass trombone
Ann Tasker - publicist
Sophie Fiennes - location manager (uncredited)
Roger Phillips - title designer (uncredited)